How the Balkans came to be

Treaty of Berlin, Ottoman Empire, Bulgaria, Romania, Serbia, Montenegro, Russo-Ottoman, BalkansOn this day 136 years ago the Treaty of Berlin was signed. This was an alteration to the Treaty of San Stefano and was instrumental in the creation of the Balkan stats of Romania, Serbia, Montenegro and Bulgaria.

The meeting was between the UK, Austrai-Hungary, France, Germany, Italy, Russia and the Ottoman Empire. It established Bulgaria as an autonomous state, although it did split the country up a bit, handing Macedonia back to the Ottomans.

It all came about after the Ottoman Empire lost the Russo-Turkish War, meaning they had to cede certain parts of its land, including Romania and Serbia and Montenegro.